The League of Legends World Championship is played every year in October, crowning the top team in the sport. It’s been going on since 2011, and has been previously hosted in Europe, North America and Korea. This time, it’s back in Europe.

On the line are bragging rights and this 70-pound trophy, called the Summoner’s Cup.

There’s the $2 million prize pool, broken down:

  • World Champion – $1,000,000 USD
  • 2nd place – $250,000 USD
  • 3rd / 4th place – $150,000 USD
  • 5th – 8th place – $75,000 USD
  • 9th – 12th place – $45,000 USD
  • 13th – 16th place – $25,000 USD

There are 16 teams at Worlds, all of which qualified through performances in domestic leagues.

Group A:

Counter Logic Gaming (North America)

Flash Wolves (Taiwan)

KOO Tigers (Korea)

paIN Gaming (Brazil)

Group B:

ahq e-Sports Club (Taiwan)

Cloud9 (North America)

Fnatic (Europe)

Invictus Gaming (China)

Group C:

Edward Gaming (China)

SKTelecom T1 (Korea)

H2K (Europe)

Bangkok Titans (Thailand)

Group D:

LGD Gaming (China)

KT Rolster (Korea)

Team SoloMid (North America)

Origen (Europe)

Group Stage
Dates: October 1-4 and 8-11
Location: Paris, France

Date: October 15-18
Location: London, England

Date: October 24-25
Location: Brussels, Belgium Brussels

Date: October 31
Location: Berlin, Germany